Odisha Police Recruitment 2026: 7,268 Constable, Firefighter and Driver Vacancies — OUSSSC Advertisement No. 01-CRE-2026/OUSSSC (23 October 2026) - Full Forms Marathi

Odisha Police Recruitment 2026: 7,268 Constable, Firefighter and Driver Vacancies — OUSSSC Advertisement No. 01-CRE-2026/OUSSSC (23 October 2026)

Government Jobs • Odisha • Recruitment Update

Odisha Police Recruitment 2026: 7,268 Constable, Firefighter and Driver Vacancies — OUSSSC Advertisement No. 01-CRE-2026/OUSSSC (23 October 2026)

Article updated: 25 October 2026 · Independent recruitment explainer based on the published advertisement

The Odisha Uniformed Services Staff Selection Commission (OUSSSC) has issued a combined recruitment advertisement for 7,268 below-graduate-level posts across police, fire services and driver categories. This guide explains the vacancy split, who may qualify, how the examination is structured, the application deadlines and the checks candidates should complete before submitting a form.

Odisha Police Recruitment 2026: 7,268 Constable
Illustrative AI-generated thumbnail for this recruitment explainer. It is not an official photograph or a government-issued graphic.
Important deadline: The advertisement lists online registration and application submission from 23 October 2026 at 5:00 PM until 12 November 2026 at 10:00 PM. The separate final time for completing a fee payment that has not been confirmed is 13 November 2026 at 10:00 PM. Do not treat the fee-payment extension as an extension of the application-submission deadline.
7,268 advertised postsSpread across seven categories, with Constable (Civil) the largest group.
Seven job categoriesIncluding Constable (Civil), Constable (Communication), Constable OISF, Firefighter, Firefighting Driver, Driver PMT and Traffic Constable.
Education varies by roleSome posts require Class 10, while others require +2; Communication has a subject-specific route.
Written test plus physical stagesPhysical measurement, efficiency, driving test where applicable, medical examination and document verification form part of the process.

1. Odisha Police Recruitment 2026: Overview

The recruitment is formally described as the Combined Uniformed Services (Below Graduate Level) Examination-2026, under Advertisement No. 01-CRE-2026/OUSSSC, dated 23 October 2026. Although it is often searched online as “Odisha Police Recruitment 2026,” the advertised roles also include fire-service positions. Applicants should identify the exact post name in the advertisement rather than assume all seven categories are identical police-constable jobs.

Recruiting body Odisha Uniformed Services Staff Selection Commission (OUSSSC)
Examination Combined Uniformed Services (Below Graduate Level) Examination-2026
Advertisement number 01-CRE-2026/OUSSSC
Date of advertisement 23 October 2026
Total vacancies 7,268
Application mode Online only, through the portal linked from the commission’s website
Application window 23 October 2026, 5:00 PM to 12 November 2026, 10:00 PM
Last time for payment confirmation 13 November 2026, 10:00 PM, as described in the advertisement
Written examination date Not specified in the advertisement’s application schedule; watch official updates and the admit card

The 44-page advertisement copy consulted here carries the OUSSSC name and date. The copy linked below is hosted on a third-party website; use the live commission website to confirm later corrigenda, portal notices or changes.

2. Post-wise vacancy distribution

The advertisement lists seven categories, totalling 7,268 vacancies. Constable (Civil) accounts for 4,219 posts, followed by Constable OISF with 2,212. The remaining posts are smaller but may suit candidates whose education, technical subjects or driving experience match the requirements.

Post Vacancies Pay matrix level listed Minimum qualification at a glance
Constable (Civil) 4,219 Level 5 +2 / Higher Secondary
Constable (Communication) 300 Level 5 Specified +2 Science subjects or eligible 3-year engineering diploma
Constable OISF 2,212 Level 5 Class 10 / Matriculation
Firefighter 317 Level 4 +2 / Higher Secondary
Firefighting Driver 62 Level 4 +2 / Higher Secondary, plus applicable driving requirements
Driver PMT 154 Level 5 Class 10 / Matriculation, plus applicable driving requirements
Traffic Constable 4 Level 4 +2 / Higher Secondary
Total 7,268 Pay levels are as per the Odisha Revised Scales of Pay Rules, 2017; check the advertisement for conditions and allowances.

The level shown above is the pay-matrix level, not a promise of a fixed in-hand salary. Actual take-home pay depends on applicable pay rules, allowances, deductions and service conditions. The detailed advertisement and appointment terms should be consulted before making a salary comparison.

What the different post names mean

  • Constable (Civil): The civil-police category, with vacancies arranged by district cadre. District-wise allocation is provided in the advertisement’s annexure.
  • Constable (Communication): A specialist communication category with specific academic requirements, including relevant science subjects or an accepted engineering diploma.
  • Constable OISF: The Odisha Industrial Security Force category, listed with a Class 10 minimum education requirement.
  • Firefighter and Firefighting Driver: Fire-service roles. The advertisement includes special physical-efficiency activities for Firefighter and driving requirements for relevant posts.
  • Driver PMT: Police Motor Transport driver category; candidates should examine driving-license validity and the required prior holding period in the detailed notice.
  • Traffic Constable: A small state-cadre category with its own age band and +2 qualification in the notice.

Do not pick a post based only on vacancy count. Compare the educational subjects, age cut-off, physical standards, driving requirements and post preference rules before selecting categories in the form.

3. Eligibility criteria: education, age and Odia language

Post-wise minimum education

The formal education rules are post-specific. Candidates must have a qualification from a recognised board, council or accepted institution. If the qualification was obtained outside Odisha, the advertisement requires proof of equivalence and institution affiliation in the circumstances it describes.

Post Minimum education stated in the advertisement Practical check
Constable (Civil) Passed +2 / Higher Secondary or equivalent Keep recognised board certificate and marks documentation ready.
Constable (Communication) +2 Science with Physics and Chemistry plus Mathematics, Electronics, Statistics, Computer Science or Information Technology as specified; alternatively, a qualifying three-year engineering diploma in an approved engineering subject Match exact subjects or diploma discipline to the notification.
Constable OISF Passed Class 10 / Matriculation or equivalent Confirm board recognition and date of birth on the certificate.
Firefighter Passed +2 / Higher Secondary or equivalent Check additional physical events, including swimming, rope climbing and load carrying.
Firefighting Driver Passed +2 / Higher Secondary or equivalent Check applicable license category and license-holding period.
Driver PMT Passed Class 10 / Matriculation or equivalent Confirm driving-test and license conditions.
Traffic Constable Passed +2 / Higher Secondary or equivalent Note the separate age range of 21–32 years.

Important for engineering-diploma applicants: Constable (Communication) is not described as accepting every diploma without restriction. The advertisement names approved engineering subjects and relevant recognising bodies. Verify the course, duration and approving authority before applying.

Age limits as on 1 January 2026

Post Minimum age Maximum age
Constable (Civil) 18 26
Constable (Communication) 18 23
Constable OISF 18 23
Firefighter 18 25
Firefighting Driver 18 25
Driver PMT 18 23
Traffic Constable 21 32

The age is calculated on the cut-off date printed in the advertisement—1 January 2026—not the day you fill out the form. The notice provides relaxations for specified categories, including five years for SC, ST, SEBC and women, and separate conditions for ex-servicemen. Calculate your age using the exact provision that applies to you and retain the supporting certificate.

Odia language requirement and general conditions

The notice requires candidates to be able to speak, read and write Odia and to satisfy one of the specified language-proof routes. These include an eligible school examination with Odia as a subject, an HSC or equivalent examination with Odia as the medium for non-language subjects, an Odia subject in the final examination of Class VII or above, or the specified written Odia test at Middle English School standard conducted by the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha.

The general eligibility section also includes Indian citizenship, good moral character, sound health and physique, and restrictions such as not having been convicted of a criminal offence. The advertisement has further conditions concerning marriage and documentation. These are formal eligibility rules, not optional preferences.

4. Physical measurement, medical fitness and efficiency test

Uniformed-service recruitment checks more than written-exam performance. The advertisement gives minimum height, weight and chest measures, then describes qualifying physical-efficiency events. Applicants should measure themselves against the applicable category and prepare gradually. Practice performance does not guarantee an official test result.

AI-generated illustrative image of candidates training for a running and physical-efficiency test
Illustrative fitness-preparation image, not an actual OUSSSC examination photograph.

Minimum physical standards listed in the notice

Category Minimum height Minimum weight Chest (men only, where specified)
UR / SEBC men 168 cm 55 kg 79 cm unexpanded; 84 cm expanded
UR / SEBC women 158 cm 47.5 kg Not applicable
SC / ST men 163 cm 50 kg 76 cm unexpanded; 81 cm expanded
SC / ST women 153 cm 45 kg Not applicable

The advertisement contains separate wording about relaxations for specified Group D employees and says the stated relaxations are not applicable to Home Guards in that context. Candidates who may fall within a special category should consult the relevant clause rather than applying a general relaxation to themselves.

Physical efficiency events

Event Men Women Applies to
1.6 km running 7 minutes 9 minutes Physical efficiency test
Long jump 3.66 metres in 3 attempts 2.75 metres in 3 attempts Physical efficiency test
Shot put 4 metres using 7.26 kg shot, in 3 attempts 3 metres using 4 kg shot, in 3 attempts Physical efficiency test
Swimming, 100 metres 8 minutes Not listed Firefighter and Firefighting Driver only
Rope climbing, 6 metres in 3 attempts Required Not listed Firefighter only
Carry a 63 kg sandbag for 100 metres Within 60 seconds Not listed Firefighter only

Physical measurement and physical-efficiency tests are qualifying in nature under the advertisement. Applicants must meet the prescribed standard; training-event performance is not simply a substitute for the written-exam score. Firefighter candidates in particular should prepare for the additional skill and endurance events in the notice.

AI-generated illustrative image of firefighters practising a hose drill in protective equipment
Illustrative fire-service training image; not a photograph of a verified recruitment drill.

The medical examination is separate. The notice refers to physical conditions and defects that can affect fitness for duties, including certain musculoskeletal, vision, colour-vision, speech or hearing issues. Do not rely on informal internet advice to decide medical eligibility: read the notified standard and seek qualified medical guidance where you have a question.

5. Written examination and selection process

The advertisement separates the process into a common written test, post-specific additional written papers for certain categories, qualifying physical tests, a driving test where applicable, medical examination and certificate verification. Confirm the exam date through an official notification or admit card rather than inferring it from the application deadline.

Common written exam

The common paper applies to all posts and is based on the HSC / Class 10 standard described in the notice. It has 100 multiple-choice questions for 100 marks and a duration of 120 minutes. Listed areas are Odia language, English language, General Knowledge, Quantitative Aptitude and Reasoning, and Basic Computer Literacy. The notice specifies one mark for a correct answer and a deduction of 0.25 mark for each incorrect answer.

Additional papers for specific posts

Post group Paper pattern Subjects / scoring
Constable (Communication) 100 MCQs, 300 marks, 120 minutes Physics and Computer Science; 3 marks for a correct answer and 0.75 negative marks for each wrong answer.
Driver PMT and Firefighting Driver 50 MCQs, 50 marks, 60 minutes Basic knowledge of vehicles and maintenance; traffic signals, road safety and rules. 1 mark for correct answers and 0.25 negative marks for incorrect answers.

Questions and options for sections other than language subjects are stated to be bilingual in Odia and English; the advertisement says the English version will prevail if the two versions differ or are ambiguous. Read the paper scheme applicable to your selected post and use the official indicative syllabus in the advertisement’s annexure.

Selection stages in order

  1. Written examination: common paper for all, plus the relevant special paper where applicable.
  2. Physical measurement and physical-efficiency test: candidates are shortlisted on written performance; the advertisement says approximately seven times the vacancies, category-wise, may be called, subject to commission provisions.
  3. Driving test: for applicable posts and candidates who meet the stated prior license-holding conditions.
  4. Medical examination: conducted by the designated medical board for candidates reaching the applicable stage.
  5. Certificate / document verification: original records and supporting evidence are checked. Incorrect or unsupported claims can jeopardise candidature.

NCC certificate holders may receive bonus marks for A, B or C certificates—one, two or three marks respectively, based on the highest certificate earned—if claimed in the application and subject to the advertisement’s conditions. Do not assume bonus marks will be added later if the relevant detail was omitted from the form.

6. Application fee, deadline and refund rules

According to the advertisement, applicants other than those in the SC and ST categories must pay an examination fee of ₹500 through the payment gateway. Options listed include net banking, credit card, debit card and UPI. The notice says the fee is refunded to applicants who actually appear in the written examination, after attendance is verified, through the original payment method. Applicants who do not appear in the written examination are not eligible for this refund.

Keep the payment trail: Use an account and payment method you control, save the receipt or transaction reference, and verify that the application confirmation page is generated. If a fee transaction is not confirmed by the application deadline, follow the deadline and instructions in the advertisement.
Event Deadline / status
Online registration and application submission begins 23 October 2026, 5:00 PM
Last date and time for submitting the online application 12 November 2026, 10:00 PM
Last time for completing a fee payment that remains unconfirmed 13 November 2026, 10:00 PM
Written examination To be notified; monitor the commission site and admit-card notice
Physical-test date To be communicated to shortlisted candidates

7. How to apply online: a careful step-by-step checklist

Use the application link reached from the OUSSSC website. Before starting, download and read the full advertisement and the instructions for the online form. The checklist below helps avoid common mistakes; the fields and requirements shown by the portal take precedence.

  1. Check the latest notice. Confirm Advertisement No. 01-CRE-2026/OUSSSC is the live recruitment and look for any corrigendum or updated instructions.
  2. Choose the correct post or post preferences. Match the role to your qualification, age, physical eligibility and any driving-license condition.
  3. Prepare identity and education records. Keep the required photo ID, date-of-birth proof, Class 10 / +2 certificates, and subject or diploma documentation required for your post.
  4. Prepare category and special-claim documents. If relevant, arrange the prescribed SC/ST/SEBC, ex-serviceman, Home Guard, Group D employee, sports or NCC documents. Only make claims you can substantiate.
  5. Check Odia-language proof. Confirm which listed language qualification route applies to you.
  6. Check driving details if applicable. Ensure the license class and issue date match the notice. Some eligibility for driving tests requires a qualifying period of license possession before the advertisement date.
  7. Fill the form carefully. Enter name, date of birth, education, category and contact details exactly as supported by records.
  8. Select exam-district preferences thoughtfully. The advertisement allows up to three preferred examination districts. It says choices cannot be changed after final submission and reserves the right to assign a different district or venue.
  9. Review uploads and declarations. Check image clarity, file requirements, declarations and application preview.
  10. Pay if applicable and save confirmation. Preserve the confirmation page, transaction details and submitted application copy.
  11. Monitor official updates. Check the commission website for written-test notices, admit cards and physical-test instructions. The notice says admit cards are downloaded online and are not sent by post.
AI-generated illustrative image of a candidate organizing application records and using a laptop for online recruitment preparation
Illustrative application-preparation image. The laptop screen and papers are generic visuals, not the real OUSSSC portal or official documents.

Common application mistakes to avoid

  • Waiting until the final hours, when upload or payment issues can become difficult to resolve.
  • Assuming any Class 12 science combination qualifies for Constable (Communication) without checking the named subjects.
  • Confusing the application-submission deadline on 12 November with the separate payment-confirmation deadline on 13 November.
  • Claiming category, Home Guard, Group D, driving or NCC benefits without required proof.
  • Choosing exam districts casually and then discovering the choice cannot be changed.
  • Believing that a successful written exam alone guarantees appointment. Later physical, medical and document-verification stages still apply.

For application-related technical issues, the advertisement lists a help desk at 0674-2916098 and [email protected], with working-day hours of 10:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Check the advertisement or commission website for current helpdesk instructions before contacting them.

8. A realistic preparation plan for applicants

Preparation should follow the stage and syllabus rather than generic “police exam” advice. First, identify whether your post uses only the common written paper or also a special paper. Then balance academic revision with safe, gradual physical preparation where a physical test applies.

  • Written paper: Rotate Odia, English, general knowledge, quantitative aptitude and reasoning, and basic computer literacy each week. Practise MCQs under a 120-minute limit and review errors.
  • Special papers: Communication candidates should revise the specified Physics and Computer Science content. Driving candidates should review vehicle maintenance, traffic signals, road safety and rules as well as practical driving competence.
  • Physical preparation: Build running endurance gradually, practise technique safely and include recovery days. Fire-service skill events require suitable supervision and safe facilities.
  • Document readiness: Keep the application PDF, confirmation page, ID, education records, language proof and relevant category or licence certificates together. Bring originals when instructed.
  • Official updates: Use the published syllabus and subsequent notices, not unverified social-media posts. The initial application schedule does not specify the written examination date.

Use previous papers only as practice material, not as confirmation that the same questions will appear. Observe the notified negative-marking rule when practising. Random guessing can reduce the score when wrong answers attract a penalty.

9. Frequently asked questions

1. How many vacancies are announced in Odisha Police Recruitment 2026?

The advertisement lists 7,268 vacancies across seven categories: Constable (Civil), Constable (Communication), Constable OISF, Firefighter, Firefighting Driver, Driver PMT and Traffic Constable.

2. What is the last date to submit the application?

The notice lists 12 November 2026 at 10:00 PM for application submission. A separate deadline of 13 November at 10:00 PM applies to fee-payment confirmation in the situation described by the notice; it is not a general application extension.

3. Is Class 10 enough to apply?

Class 10 is listed for Constable OISF and Driver PMT. Several other posts require +2, and Constable (Communication) has specified subject or diploma conditions. Applicants must also satisfy age, language, physical and other rules.

4. What is the examination fee?

The advertisement says applicants other than SC and ST candidates must pay ₹500. It states that the fee is refunded to applicants who actually appear in the written examination, subject to the stated process.

5. Has the written examination date been announced?

The application schedule in the advertisement does not give a written-exam date. Monitor the OUSSSC website and the admit-card notice rather than relying on an unverified date circulated online.

6. Is the physical test the same for every post?

Not entirely. The notice lists physical standards and efficiency events, with additional swimming, rope-climbing and load-carrying events for specified fire-service posts. Driving tests also apply to relevant categories.

7. Can candidates change the examination district after submitting the form?

The advertisement allows up to three preferred districts but says the choice cannot be altered after final submission. The commission also reserves the right to allot a different district or venue.

8. Does a B.Tech or graduate degree automatically qualify someone for every post?

No. The advertisement defines qualifications, age limits and subject requirements by post. A higher degree does not automatically replace a stated subject combination, diploma, license or other eligibility rule.

10. Final checklist before you apply

The 7,268-post recruitment provides several entry routes into Odisha’s uniformed services, but the headline total alone is not enough to decide whether to apply. Narrow the list to posts whose minimum education, age band, physical requirements, language criteria and driving conditions you can satisfy.

Before submitting, read Advertisement No. 01-CRE-2026/OUSSSC, verify the application details on the commission portal, submit the form before 12 November 2026 at 10:00 PM, and track payment confirmation separately. Keep copies of your application and supporting documents, then follow official notices for examination dates, admit cards and later stages.

Editorial note: This is an independent recruitment explainer, not a government website or a substitute for the full advertisement. Applicants should confirm current instructions and any subsequent changes with OUSSSC before relying on the information.

Sources and official links

  1. OUSSSC — official website. The URL is printed in the advertisement. The live site could not be opened reliably by the browser during preparation, so check it directly for updates.
    Open OUSSSC official website ↗
  2. OUSSSC — application portal. The portal associated with this recruitment. Confirm that the displayed advertisement number matches before entering personal data.
    Open OUSSSC application portal ↗
  3. Advertisement No. 01-CRE-2026/OUSSSC, dated 23 October 2026. The 44-page advertisement copy bearing the commission’s name and signature, hosted by FreeJobAlert. This is the main source for dates, posts, eligibility, fee, exam pattern and tests.
    Open the 44-page advertisement PDF ↗
  4. Jagran Josh — “Odisha Police Constable Recruitment 2026: Apply Online Begins for 7268 Posts, Check Direct Link Here,” updated 24 October 2026. Secondary coverage used to cross-check the application window.
    Read the recruitment coverage ↗
  5. Rojgarpulse — OUSSSC CRE 2026 recruitment summary, updated 23 October 2026. Secondary cross-check for post counts, qualification summary and application dates; the advertisement takes priority if a summary conflicts.
    Read the recruitment summary ↗
Prepared as an informational recruitment guide and updated on 25 October 2026. All generated editorial images are illustrative and do not depict a verified live recruitment event.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top